7. oktober 2011

EEA institutes the ”Birgit Grodal award” to the best woman economist in Europe

The EEA Council, in its meeting in Glasgow 2010, agreed unanimously to institute a prize to a woman economist who has made a significant contribution to the Economics profession in Europe. Over the past 12 months the EEA Council, alongside its Women in Economics (WinE) committee, has been working on the particulars of the award.
We are now extremely pleased and excited to announce that the award will be named after Birgit Grodal, who was the first female elected President of the EEA, but sadly passed away before she was due to take up her presidency.

The first "Birgit Grodal Award Committee" is composed of Jean Tirole (Chair), Francine Blau, Per Krusell, Valerie Ramey, Christian Schultz and the first award winner will be announced in May 2012. The EEA also has the pleasure in announcing that the award, given! every even year, will be sponsored for the first three editions by the Danmarks Nationalbank. The procedure for the selection of the winner will be made public shortly on a dedicated section on the EEA homepage and all EEA members will be asked to make nominations.

Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact the EEA at eea@unicatt.it