Cardiff University

Cardiff University first opened its doors on October 24, 1883 and is now recognised in independent government assessments as one of Britain's leading teaching and research universities.

Cardiff University

For a presentation of the University of Amsterdam - please see the main website of Cardiff University.

Cardiff Business School

The Economics section of Cardiff Business School is responsible for the teaching and research in economics at Cardiff University. A variety of programmes are available at undergraduate and postgraduate level, together with a 2+2 PhD programme.

To view our programmes, please consult our website.

The section has 33 faculty (including 16 professors) whose research interests include: macroeconomics; finance; econometrics; labour; trade; growth and development; R&D and innovations; regional and industrial economics; and economic and business history. They are involved with a number of Business School institutes and centres, including:

  • Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics
  • Welsh Institute of Research in Economics and Development
  • Welsh Economy Research Unit
  • Accounting and Business History Research Unit

The research activity of members of the section has resulted in publications in a wide range of economics, econometrics and economic/business history journals.

The faculty is also heavily involved in policy-relevant work, including participation in the IEA Shadow Monetary Policy Committee, advice to WAG, and related studies on projects in Wales.